Cubs Beat Indians For First Title Since 1908

The Chicago Cubs win their first title since 1908 ending the longest drought in North American pro sports history. Cubs GM Theo Epstein has now ended two long standing and infamous curses. In 2004, the Boston Red Sox won their first World Series since 1918 thus ending The Curse of the Bambino and now the Cubs.

Chicago was the best team in baseball all year (except for a small stretch) having won the most games in the Majors with 103. The Cleveland, run by an excellent manager and executive team, won 94 games and had to battle significant injuries to their top players all year and still remarkably found themselves in the World Series one win away from ending their own drought stretching back to 1948. Cleveland's last appearance was in 1997 while Chicago's most recent trip to the finals was in 1945.

Interestingly, Boston went on to win a couple more titles. Chicago is a young enough team to win a couple more as well.

Cleveland now holds the mantle for longest dry spell between a World Series win.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Mysterious and anonymous comments as well as those laced with cyanide and ad hominen attacks will be deleted. Thank you for your attention, chumps.